Eurasian Union Updates Technical Regulation


Eurasian Union Updates Technical Regulation
Officials representing Eurasian Economic Union countries hold discussions at a meeting in May. Photo courtesy of Eurasian Economic Union

The Eurasian Economic Union of former Soviet republics updated its technical regulation for lubricants, oils and special fluids, the organization’s commission said in a news release last week. 

The EEU is a free trade zone encompassing Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan. Moldova, Uzbekistan and Cuba have observer status.

The union’s Technical Regulation was adopted in 2014 in an effort to replace obsolete Soviet era Gost standards for a wide variety of materials, including lubricants, still in use on the national level in many industries such as automobiles, agriculture, machine-building and mining.

The latest changes were adopted to for the “update and withdrawal of some standards” the commission stated.

Observers said the update catches the regulation up changes in product performance specifications, updating some encompassed standards while eliminating obsolete ones.

“What we are seeing here is that new standards are developed, or there are changes in the old ones.” Pavel Kartashov, consultant and business development manager at APL Automobil Pruftechnik Landau, told Lube Report on Tuesday.

APL Automobil Pruftechnik Landau GmbH is a Landau, Germany-based testing and monitoring service provider in the auto and lubricants industries.

The EEU’s Technical Regulation concerning lubricants deals with general matters such as the safety during the manufacturing process, transportation and storage or trade declarations.

For exampleone section prescribes methods of detecting deposits in lubricating oils and water and wear particles in fresh and used lubes.

Related Topics

Armenia    Asia    Belarus    Europe    Finished Lubricants    Kyrgyzstan    Region    Regulations Specs & Testing    Russia    Uzbekistan